DEV Community

Cover image for Podcast Palooza— What are you listening to? (Science Edition)
Rachel Fazio for The DEV Team

Posted on

Podcast Palooza— What are you listening to? (Science Edition)

Hey hey hey hey!

If you are new here, I am Rachel (they/them), Content Creator here at DEV, and I am on a quest to boot up a weekly discussion around podcasts. This is largely inspired by @michaeltharrington 's work on Music Monday! Thank you Michael for paving the way towards this wonderful idea!

I ASSURE YOU, I am coming to you with a good theme today, as I believe this is my second-most-listened-to category on Spotify Podcasts.

This week, I am in search for all podcasts science related. Are you listening to a podcast on a beloved animal, the solar system, medical advancements, all things human body, physics, quantum mechanics, or more? This one is for you.

Send me all of your favorite science-related episodes, series', and more below, I will happily intake all of them.

Woman listening to music in the bathtub drinking wine


ALSO, we have a podcast tag here at DEV where you can share in even more discussions, celebrate your recent episode releases, and gawk at the beautiful words of others........

#podcast

Audiophiles unite! Learn on the go with dev podcasts, there are lots of different shows about lots of topics, done in a lot of different styles so hopefully you can find some that suit your needs.

Thank you thank you for entertaining my passion for listening to other people tell me things about the world while I work at my desk from home. Send me your recommendations below!

See ya next time,
Rachel

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper • Edited

Well, a few I listen to regularly include Science Friday, Short Wave, No Stupid Questions, Freakonomics, & The Joy of Why.

And my fav: The Skeptics Guide to the Universe! This one is independently produced and gets a bit chatty / informal at times, but power through; they also deliver plenty of fantastic content. They cover science and technology through the lens of "scientific skepticism." What this means is you will not only get the latest science, you'll also learn how to evaluate headlines, how to think about scientific studies, how to separate truth from hype, and most importantly how to recognize and avoid pseudoscience, quackery, scams, and the like. Episodes include news, interviews, "logical fallacies", and fun games such as "Who's that Noisy" and "Science or Fiction." You'll be highly entertained and you'll learn a ton - what else could you ask for? New episodes come out every Saturday, and they're coming up on number 1,000, so you know it's got to be good!

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

LOVE! I will definitely check this out, I think I have seen this one in my feed as of late, I am excited to see this!

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

Let me know what you think once you hear it.

Thread Thread
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Any recommended first episode to listen to?

Thread Thread
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

I think since it's pretty consistent and based on recent events, I'd say start with the most recent episode and work backwards from there (if you don't want to wait a week for the next one to come out.) Also, they have detailed episode descriptions on the website so you could browse there to see which episodes address topics that pique your interest. For example, in this week's episode they covered new tech in car batteries, which I find very interesting.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Sounds great

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

I am SUCH a fan of Ologies with Alie Ward. They do a weekly share of a chosen -ologist, talking about their favorite aspects of their job, what they are working on, and the basis of the field. I have found some really awesome nuggets of knowledge through all of their episodes and am loving learning about such vast topics!

Favorite episode that I started with was Brycology (Moss) with Robin Wall Kimmerer (such an incredible author).