DEV Community

Cover image for Describe how you use Google (or other search engine) effectively
Sherry Day
Sherry Day

Posted on

Describe how you use Google (or other search engine) effectively

We all search every day to do our job. I'd love for you to describe how you approach this part of the job well. It's probably just "intuitive" at this point, but maybe there's something in your process that could help someone else.

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

If I know it's going to be a complicated search, I first open a new window so all the tabs are dedicated to that job.

I tend to then type out my best query, and then typically click open 5-10 results in new tabs and anticipate reading them all a little bit to cross-reference and triangulate on the correct answer.

When I am done with the challenge, I'll close the whole window. I feel like I could have a process for occasionally bookmarking resources I'll need again (outside of, say, the DEV bookmark). But generally I don't anticipate which resources I'll forget how to find, and usually I'm able to track things down in my browsing history when I need them.

Collapse
 
pauldubois777 profile image
Paul DuBois

One thing I've learned from my Google search is that if I can't seam to find anything about the problem I am having, I am probably not doing it properly, and need to go back and look at how I got to where I am.

IOW, if no results on Google, then no one has ran into this problem, either because I am way off in how I am doing it, or there is a documented way that most people know about.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

if I can't seam to find anything about the problem I am having, I am probably not doing it properly, and need to go back and look at how I got to where I am.

That's an interesting rule of thumb!

Collapse
 
luisguillermobultetibles profile image
luisguillermobultetibles

Hola, perdona que no te haya respondido pues esporΓ‘dicamente me conecto, me refiero a la imagen de esa persona que teclea con muy mal humor... nada que ver. de ese teorema, estΓ‘ en la Wiki., te puedo decir: Un mono pulsando teclas al azar sobre un teclado durante un periodo de tiempo infinito casi
seguramente podrΓ‘ escribir finalmente cualquier libro que se halle en la Biblioteca Nacional
Francesa, esto se conoce como teorema de los infinitos monos. En una nueva exposiciΓ³n del
mismo teorema, mΓ‘s popular entre los angloparlantes, los monos podrΓ­an escribir las obras de
William Shakespeare.
Una observaciΓ³n interesante es que algunos de los monos producirΓ‘n el propio teorema que los
describe, otros escribirΓ‘n siempre cosas coherentes (por ejemplo, este programas), etc. Puede
considerarse que algunos de ellos evolucionarΓ‘n o serΓ‘n capaces de pensar; esto nos sugiere la
posibilidad de que la conciencia sea una propiedad casual de la materia, aunque las apariencias
engaΓ±an ya que un comportamiento inteligente no siempre proviene de un ente racional, si el
nΓΊcleo es irracional, si se comporta de forma inteligente debe estar lΓ³gicamente aislado por una
esfera cognitiva que debe tener al menos una capa de raciocinio que determine el
comportamiento del resto de la estructura, la cual puede no pertenecer al sistema sino que se
encuentra a otro nivel o genera un sistema de una nueva categorΓ­a como una propiedad
emergente.

Collapse
 
dinerdas profile image
Collapse
 
hunghvu profile image
Hung Vu

At least to me, every questions I asked have been answered before. The answer is over there, just behind one simple search query, so the key point is how I should phrase the question.

My searching process starts with a short description about my problem (less than 10 words). My preference is to go over some results forum threads (e.g. Reddit) first because they tend to not be opinionated. I skim the conversations to search for an umbrella terminology, or something closed to, then find articles on the related topics afterward. I keep repeating this process (may take days), then narrow down the possible solutions.

That said, I only start searching after spending times breaking down my problem to a disgestable components. For such a big question like "How can I make my system 100x faster without making breaking changes?", it would be near impossible to find solutions in a short few days via search engine.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

I use the duck πŸ¦† (DuckDuckGo)

Really easy to use commands with !.

Example :
If I would search on GitHub, I just type !gh my-search

Collapse
 
dangerousdan profile image
Dangerous Dan

You can do this on Chrome too by right clicking on the search bar and clicking "manage search engines"

Collapse
 
dinhanhx profile image
dinhanhx • Edited

programming language + library + feature

For example, Python PyTorch Convolution layer. Then I see the docs.

Collapse
 
luisguillermobultetibles profile image
luisguillermobultetibles

Los disfrutaras, pues existe un teorema el de los infinitos monos... en fin, hay una probabilidad de que logre algo coherente.

Collapse
 
domiii profile image
Domi

During the process, I mostly look exactly like Jim Carrey in that gif.