DEV Community

Cover image for A junior developer's journey through 2021
junior dev
junior dev

Posted on

A junior developer's journey through 2021

Almost two weeks into 2021 and I'm already making the most of it. I've decided that this is the year I'm going to make a huge step forward in my learning journey and become a better developer. How you may ask? well, I'm taking part in #365DaysOfCode, I will be spending my year coding for at least an hour every day. Okay, there will come a point when maybe I won't have the time to code, or something will come up, for these days I will be either reading one of the many programming books I own (Also please feel free to suggest some more), listening to podcasts, and watching some interesting tutorials or just programming videos in general.

The last few weeks I have been working on a number of things but going back to the basics was the main one. I believe that junior developers such as myself get caught up in trying to be the best and learn more advanced topics and that we brush over the basics whilst never reverting back to learn them. We want to build something fancy to show off our talents, but do we fully understand what we just built?
I have learnt a lot about myself as a developer throughout the past year and only really understood what it takes recently. Taking the time to go back and truly understand has been very beneficial in making me a better developer.

I want to write more, to show my development and the many goals I hope to accomplish. So please feel free to join me on this journey and perhaps we can learn together.

Top comments (0)