DEV Community

andrew_dev
andrew_dev

Posted on

12 Months of Code From a Middle Schooler. 🚀

Hey! I'm Andrew, I am a 13 year old currently attending middle school in Canada. I love to code and learn new things each day. And I'd like to say this is heavily inspired from Aiden Bai's "A Year of Code from a High School Student". So here I am writing my own version, Of what I have learnt & built during the past 12 months.

Things I created 🚀

https://github.com/andrewnijmeh/polio: I applied reverse-engineering techniques, to reverse-engineer the polio virus. Using the public gen bank DB. And bio-python library.
https://utilitybot.co Discord bot I created, got into 40+ servers. Not too many but I was definitely proud. It was my first time creating discord bots.
https://github.com/andrewnijmeh/blockchain-springboot Created a simple blockchain using springboot, I used java since at the time I was interested in learning java.

Things I enjoyed doing 🙂
‣ Working at a company creating software for gamers, Worked there for about 10 months December 2020 to July 2021.

‣ Working at my uncles company for the past 2 months (Started in July of 2021 Currently at this role)
‣ Learning about bioinformatics, GenBank, proteins etc.
‣ Learning about AWS, Getting more knowledge about elastic search, etc.

Goals for next school year ↩️
‣ Successfully start my own coding club at my school via hackclub.
‣ Contribute more to open-source on GitHub.
‣ Learn more about VueJS, And Kernel Dev.
‣ Learn more about cyber-security, Improve some of my opsec.

Thanks for reading, I wish you all the best luck for the new school year! (If you are a student of course!)

Top comments (0)