DEV Community

Atul Anand
Atul Anand

Posted on

What is Local HackDay? Why Local HackDay

Local Hack Day(LHD) is a hackathon organized by Major League Hacking(MLH).

What are Hackathons?

A hackathon is an event, hosted by tech companies/organizations, where programmers get together for a short period of time to collaborate on a project. The participants work rapidly and often work without sleep to achieve their task, as the events generally only last 24 hours or take place over a weekend.

In most of the hackathons, anyone from least experience to graduate students can join or literally anyone.

What is Local Hack Day?

Local Hack Day is a week-long hackathon that takes place annually. Local Hack Day is taking place for the last 8 years(except 2020). It is recognized all over the world. It comprises daily and weekly events. The complexity of challenges varies and therefore, the candidate attending the event and can do the task according to their own knowledge.

Why Local Hack Day?

The will be completely my experience and will be based upon my thoughts.

Those who don’t know who I am and my qualification(which are almost all of you) I am a 15 years old student, I am have been practicing learning java and I am a medium-level java problem solver. Including that, I am also interested in web development, Python automation, Machine Learning.

My Story of Participation

The other day I woke up thinking that I wanted to have a collaborative friend who would like to code with me. In the search of that, I joined a lot of discord servers that were made by coding enthusiasts. From there — just one day before LHD was going to start— I found about Local Hack Day. At that time I didn’t even know what was a hackathon. Although I was a bit enthusiastic about coding and therefore, I joined it.

What are the Features of Local Hack Day?

  • It’s compatible with a range of people.
  • Through local hack day, you get a sense of accountability and I believe accountability could lead anyone in the right direction anything.
  • They have leaderboard updates every single day, to return the enthusiasm to everyone.
  • It has guilds (group) formed from the whole community. And this guild helps every member of the guild to improve.
  • One of the best reasons is that you get a lot of projects to do that will both increase your knowledge and expand your GitHub profile.


This was my experience over Local hack day. Hope you were able to take something from it and will try to join one of them.

Check my socials:

Twitter: @AtulACleaver
GitHub: @AtulACleaver
Instagram: @AtulACleaver

Top comments (0)