DEV Community

Cover image for Shitcoins: My Personal Experience and How to Protect Yourself from Them
David Tevzadze
David Tevzadze

Posted on

Shitcoins: My Personal Experience and How to Protect Yourself from Them

The cryptocurrency market is flooded with thousands of shitcoins, many of which appear and disappear quickly. These projects often lack real value, causing significant financial losses, as seen with Squid Game Token and OneCoin. Early in my trading journey, I invested in two hyped tokens that collapsed within weeks, leaving me with nothing. Since then, I've taken steps to avoid such pitfalls.

First, I always do my own research. I analyze a project’s whitepaper, roadmap, and applications to ensure it offers real value. I also verify the development team’s credibility and transparency, looking for a strong track record.

Image description

Next, I prioritize secure exchanges. I rely on Hacken’s cer.live, which assesses exchanges based on strict security criteria. According to their latest report, Bitget, Kraken, and WhiteBIT rank as the top three safest platforms. In fact, WhiteBIT’s Halloween campaign has shown their commitment to engaging and educating their users while keeping security at the forefront.

Bitget

Image description

WhiteBIT

Image description

Kraken

Image description

Finally, I review the community behind a project, assessing its social media activity and partnerships. A strong, transparent community is usually a sign of legitimacy, while overly hyped projects are often a red flag.

Image description

Navigating the crypto world has its challenges, but through research, caution, and choosing trusted exchanges, I’ve learned to minimize risk and improve my investment strategy.

Top comments (0)