DEV Community

Devin Ho
Devin Ho

Posted on

Starting My Software Engineering Journey

About a month ago, I started my journey as software engineer. Although I’m about 2 years removed from college and graduated with a technical degree, I realized I didn’t actually know what I wanted to do and had no trajectory for my career. I got a job as a Software Tester out of college and thought it was something I would want to do for the rest of my life. That idea however quickly fizzled out as I found it to be very repetitive and mundane. After spending months looking for a new job and constantly getting rejection emails, I decided I needed to hone in on some new skills.

As I was looking for jobs, software engineer jobs were constantly popping up on my feeds. Even while taking coding classes in college, I knew my skills weren’t on par with what companies wanted. It was in this moment, where I knew I needed to hone in on some skills. That’s when a friend told me about a software engineering program she had recently taken and thought that while it would be challenging, it’s something that I should consider taking.

Through many weeks of wrestling with the idea, I finally decided to enroll in the Flatiron Software Engineering Program. I remember even while completing the pre-work, I thought this was a huge mistake and while sometimes I still think that, the feeling of completing each lab and deliverable is definitely a great reminder this was the right decision.

It’s extremely gratifying learning the material, putting it into practice, and seeing the results happen before your very eyes. I’m excited to learn more complex topics and languages as I continue to hone in on these new skills to start my software engineering journey.

Top comments (0)