DEV Community

Jeevan Kumar Karre
Jeevan Kumar Karre

Posted on

Please suggest, react or jquery?

I want to create a basic dumb bot using botkit.ai and release this with in a month. Now i am confused in using front end technology, Should i use JQuery (or) React Js to complete this project with in 1 month. Please suggest.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

What do you want the user to do? What's the interface?

I wouldn't start with any library/framework. I wouldn't even set up webpack.
Use plain modern JS and leverage ES6-modules, which are supported on current browsers.

Collapse
 
jsrn profile image
James

If you don't know either yet, I would suggest React.

React might be overkill for a very simple chat interface, but jQuery is steadily going out of fashion, and learning the basics of React is definitely going to pay off in the long term.

Collapse
 
koehr profile image
Norman

I wouldn't use React if you didn't use it yet. Although I agree with the previous comment, Reactjs is definitely very useful to learn and jQuery is going out of fashion, I would suggest you to use what you are already good at. Even more so considering the very small time frame.