DEV Community

Cover image for Blog SEO. Be careful cross-posting on dev.to with new domains
Serhii
Serhii

Posted on • Updated on

Blog SEO. Be careful cross-posting on dev.to with new domains

Recently I decided to create a blog on my own domain. I am neither pro at SEO neither a confident blogger but did my research. I decided to go with Hashnode, while it is not lightning fast - it is compatible with your own domain (and I want to see more analytics and stuff, link to my own product), drives your traffic directly there and the devs are pretty active in discord.

It is well-known fact that SEO is impacted by several factors:

  1. Keywords, search terms you target
  2. Page optimizations, mobile-friendliness
  3. Domain trust (backlinks, etc)
  4. Page information uniqueness

And well, in case google crawler sees several pages, it decides to pick one of them the original - usually the oldest, but I guess the most trusted and mobile-friendly one.

Canonical links should resolve this issue, but it seems there are problems with dev.to implementation https://github.com/forem/forem/issues/9509.
In comments we see several people complaining, some telling that the solution was to post on dev.to after 2 weeks or so...
The devs are stating that everything is normal, canonical is deduced correctly.

But my experiment with Hashnode blog shows that either dev.to is so optimal and pleasant to google, that it is ignoring the canonical link. Or it treats devto page as different content.

There were fixes merged related to that issue. Hope this will be fixed soon and I can finally start cross-posting on this fastest and most responsive community.

I described this and other cases as well as my journey in my recent post Dev Blog SEO. How to rank my blog? Should I cross-post?

As of 24.03.2021 issues still persist. And I had to issue a removal after 2 weeks.
image

Top comments (0)