DEV Community

melalat910
melalat910

Posted on

Why I Am Pursuing Software Development

I graduated high school in 2017 and went on to study biology (pre-med) in college. I quickly realized that that wasn’t the major for me and moved on. I decided to explore fields that matched my career interest survey and one of the careers that stuck out to me was software engineering and IT. I attempted a couple of web development classes and enjoyed them a lot, but, my school didn’t offer as broad of a curriculum as I would have liked. So I began researching the best options for learning software development and breaking into tech and settled on attending a boot camp. The perfect opportunity to do this presented itself when I was placed on leave from my job at the start of the lockdown, after contracting COVID-19. I have always valued technology and desired to understand how computers and software operate since I was young. Computer learning was supplemental to my in-person homeschool education and I find it a little ironic that I will be returning to this form of remote learning to start a career. After doing some research, I feel software development will be a flexible career choice for me because there is good job security whether one is working remotely or not, a good average starting salary where I live, and I will always be learning something new in this fast-progressing field which is important to me.

Top comments (0)