DEV Community

Oliver Davies
Oliver Davies

Posted on • Originally published at oliverdavies.uk on

Slow down to go fast

I've recently been improving my typing.

A screenshot of a typing test.

My speed is usually good, but my accuracy is not where I'd like it to be (it's usually around 95%, and I'd like it to be nearer 99%).

It may seem counterintuitive, but I need to slow down to get faster.

But not focusing on the speed and prioritising accuracy, I'll still get faster as I'm not mistyping as many keys.

It's the same when I run.

My first few kilometres are slower as I get into the run, find my pace, focus on breathing, etc.

Here's the thing

The same can also be said for automation and automated testing.

They require some time investment initially but will save time as a project evolves and becomes more complex.

You need to slow down initially to go faster later.

P.S. Do you need immediate access to an expert Drupal Developer? With my Drupal development subscription, make unlimited requests for a fixed monthly price in less time than posting to a job board!

Top comments (0)