DEV Community

Pooja DebRoy
Pooja DebRoy

Posted on

The technology I'd like to build

If I could build technology of any kind, I would like to build an accessible sort of AI technology that would collect data about a person for the entirety of their lifetime, store their memories, and possibly be able to simulate them for friends or family after that being has passed. This technology would basically immortalize a person. Although the concept immortalizing a person might be problematic as it may inhibit people from being able to properly grieve, it would preserve data, like memories, for families of the passed individual. This technology would also allow families to have as much data and information about their family tree as possible. This technology would also raise many privacy concerns, but I'm going to pretend that those don't exist for the purposes of this assignment.

I, personally, would've used this technology to learn about experiences that my grandparents went through during the 1900's, as they were alive during many historical events. Since they are no longer living, I find that receiving anecdotes of their experiences from my parents doesn't feel as complete. If there was some sort of database I could use to access their specific experiences with as much detail as possible, I'd have much more clarity in my family's history. As someone who was adopted as a baby, I would also use this kind of technology to learn more about my biological family. Being able to access this type of data would keep me informed about important things like my genetic medical history.

For others, this technology could also potentially be used to store memories of individuals suffering from Alzheimer's or Dementia. That way their memories can be passed down to future generations.

This invention would mainly consist of data collection. The simulation aspect of the technology would be heavily based off of current strides being taken in the development of AI.

If money and time were no concern, I would like to take the skills I've assembled over the course of my lifetime and dedicate them to helping those who are less fortunate, less educated, and in conditions of inferior health. I value humanitarian efforts and would try to do anything in my bandwidth to assist others and try to give them a more comfortable life like what I am fortunate enough to have. I am still trying to find a way I can use my background in tech and apply it to this goal of mine. The field of HCDD would be the closest potential avenue for me to reach this goal, as I could support the efforts to make technology easier to use for those who are disabled. I am continuing to explore my options.

Week 11 blog post 9

Top comments (0)