DEV Community

Cover image for ETHme - your chic web3 identity
Adam
Adam

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at urbanisierung.dev

ETHme - your chic web3 identity

Everybody knows ENS domains. And everyone knows that you can also store text records (hopefully everyone knows it!). With those data dApps can easily enrich wallets. But what was missing for me: a web3 profile page, with which I can enrich my data without gas costs. Comparable with bio.link or linktree. Biggest difference: decentralized, and it's your data and not mine.

At first I asked myself the question: why do you actually need this? The answer was (at least for me) quite simple: identity is probably the most important asset, I want to have that completely under my control. Now before everyone starts screaming: sure, that ship has sailed. We're all on Twitter or LinkedIn. But well, you have to start somewhere! So why not now. And of course everyone can create their own page and then store the IPFS content hash under their ENS domain. But even for that you need some basic technical knowledge. Why not create a simple way to change text or URLs without gas costs. Here we go.

So how does the data get to the profile page? There are exactly two sources: ENS and IPFS. The ENS text records are available anyway and are read and displayed accordingly. The IPFS data is used for additional enrichment. You can set what you want with it. It is also possible to set an avatar and a header image.

This is the short story behind ethme. I will also write a blog post in the next days, how ethme is technically implemented.

Have fun!

btw: just add your ETH address or ENS domain to see your profile! mine is: https://ethme.at/urbanisierung.eth

Top comments (0)