DEV Community

Aparimana
Aparimana

Posted on

Mailchimp API - report campaigns for email address?

I've been asked to integrate with Mailchimp for a CRM, not to send emails, but just to report back on Mailchimp activity for each contact in the CRM

Simple enough to state the question I want to ask the API: "please could you tell me all the campaigns that have been sent to this email address?"

However, looking through the API documentation, it looks like it might be very longwinded in practice, and would probably require polling and storing bulk data rather than being able to ask just this question on the fly....

Before I implemented something really heavy and longwinded, I wondered whether anyone with more experience with this API could suggest whether I have missed some simpler approach?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
camart profile image
Aparimana

Actually, I am not 100% sure it can be done at all....

It is possible to find out whether an email address is in a LIST, and it is possible to see whether a CAMPAIGN has been sent to a LIST, but what if the email was added to the list after the campaign was sent?

hmmmm

It seems unlikely that the API is incapable of telling me

What emails have been sent to this address?

.... but it is really hard to see how to dig out the information