DEV Community

Kuberdenis
Kuberdenis

Posted on

Is the required skill level to work with AWS a business model?

Recently I am mostly working with AWS and I can't say I don't notice how much harder it is to work with (and still keep everything in order) than Azure. One or two mistakes and you are burning money. Another flaw in their design (in my opinion) is the structuring. If you miss the tagging part when creating resources you can easily lose track of where the bill is coming from.

So do you think this is a business model or just a "bad" design?

hard

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
paulmicheli profile image
Paul Micheli

Try deploying your infrastructure using cloudformation and you can provide the tags and the create/update stack command and it will tag everything associated with that cloudformation stack.

Collapse
 
kubeden profile image
Kuberdenis

Yup, still - high learning curve. Not just anybody can do this. Exactly that learning curve is what I mean by 'business model'.

But yeah, I get your point and I totally agree.

Collapse
 
paulmicheli profile image
Paul Micheli

VS-Code with this plugin can really help you - github.com/dsteenman/cloudformatio...