DEV Community

Frank
Frank

Posted on

Tips for a newbe

Hello everyone!
Let me introduce myself: I am a maths teacher with some spare time on my hands. My skills have been acquired quite some time ago; I have been programming in object-oriented Pascal in Lazarus/FreePascal, and lately I have been taking a Python course, but without doing any projects. At work and at home we use Linux almost exclusively, but not completely. Now I would like to participate, I do not know in what capacity, so I ask for suggestions, advice to the community, in an open source project of the Linux community (also wanting Windows, but with less enthusiasm ...).
Frank

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
trplx_gaming profile image
Gabriel Ibe

Quite nice to see someone else juggling a job and learning new things in their free time 😊

In my case I'm learning Java while managing a 9-5 job and from my high level of experience in JS, there's no better way to learn than to apply it.

So if you want to actually learn a new language,then be ready to be project intensive than just consuming info, alright?

Collapse
 
f_mn_a2691 profile image
Frank

That's fine with me, Gabriel, as long as I enjoy learning new languages... What's the point of committing yourself for free to an activity you don't like?
Do you have any suggestions for me?

Collapse
 
trplx_gaming profile image
Gabriel Ibe

One of the most valuable piece of advice I'll give you for learning new (Programming) languages is to build projects, no matter how small or difficult it may be, you'll learn more about the language as well as new things if you challenge yourself

I'd recommend you check out roadmap.sh for more guidance on what you wanna do