DEV Community

Cover image for Windows: change default sound source with 1 click
Glenn
Glenn

Posted on • Updated on

Windows: change default sound source with 1 click

I found myself switching between my monitor speakers and my headphones frequently and having to click 3-4 times through the taskbar every time I wanted to change started to get annoying.

I figured it could be useful to others so here it is.

Default Audio Switcher

Purpose:

Created for switching default sound source between my monitor speakers and headphones with 1 click.

Prerequisites:

Setup Switch Sound Source:

  1. Find the names of your sound sources for your PC via command prompt
nircmd showsounddevices
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  1. Pick the two you want to switch between
  2. Edit the SwitchSoundSource+.bat file with the names of your sound sources
SET defaultSoundSource="exampleSource1"
SET soundSource0="exampleSource1"
SET soundSource1="exampleSource2"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  1. Save the SwitchSoundSource+.bat
  2. Run (double click) SwitchSoundSource.vbs

Optional:

  • Create shortcut to the .vbs file and set icon location to ico file in this folder (or your own custom icon)
  • Set hotkey via shortcut properties

I just have my shortcut set up on my Nexus Dock

@author Glenn Chon

Top comments (0)