DEV Community

Joseph
Joseph

Posted on

Open Source Project for ChromeOS and Chromebook Users

I made an open source (MIT license) screen capture/recording ChromeOS application. It works, but I'm sure there are still a good number of bugs to be found in the back end. Also, the front end is very ugly at this point.

I created it because I couldn't find any other free screen recorders for Chromebooks. The paid ones typically have a free version, but it puts a watermark on the video, and I didn't want that.

I got my use out of it, so I figured I would open source it for others to use or contribute.

I would love to see someone contribute a nicer UI (just some HTML, CSS, JS stuff), but really any contributions would be super appreciated!

Here is the project repository: https://github.com/joekreydt/Captis.

Hit me up here on Dev.to, over on GitHub, or DM me on Twitter, with any comments or questions.

Peace!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
tobiassn profile image
Tobias SN

There’s Screencastify.

Collapse
 
bitsrfr profile image
Joseph

As I mentioned, I did not want my screen recording to have a watermark and I wanted it to be free, and all of the free ones put a watermark on the video. Screencastify's website indicates that their free version puts a watermark on the video;screencastify.com/buy/.

Collapse
 
tobiassn profile image
Tobias SN • Edited

I’ll admit that I didn’t really check, and just remembered the name.