DEV Community

Loralighte
Loralighte

Posted on

Midnight Thoughts with Kai - Mathematics and Science

so it's 00:38 or 12:38 AM for other humans at time of writing this sentence. I had a random thought that kept me up from getting the sleep I need so I thought I'd quickly explain it on the internet, with the clear warning that I was exhausted at midnight with a dumb thought. Why do we hold math to such a high standard? I always have thought that math wasn't a truth of our universe, but an idea humans created but never could explain why I thought that.

So with that became my thought process of what is "Math" and "Science" and I kept thinking "Are they truths, or are they stories?" and after a while of thinking I figured it out, at least maybe, I don't know this is a random thought I am getting out to the world so my brain can sleep.

So I came up with the idea that since math is something we created to help us do work, science is just using mathematics to explain our universe with arbitrary meaning that in all honesty has no real bearing on our lives.

We are just animals like any other, we are not smarter than the other animals. If anything I think we are dumber than most animals, but with a weird inherit kind of curiosity and greed. Using arbitrary ideas made by a couple of people who kind of started this whole society idea. Society happened because we wanted to survive, and we were willing to give up goods for goods we needed more. Wood for food, food for warmth, and more. We started to trade for services, then we needed people to manage everything and somewhere in there religion was born, then later math and science to put arbitrary meaning as to "why we do this" when we did things for basic needs.

Remember: This is mostly my stoopid self putting what is probably garbage to most people out into the universe as "Thought leftovers for thursday or whatever"

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
bittnkr profile image
bittnkr

Paradoxically, we are smarter than other animals, and at the same time, dumber.
Animals don't kill for pleasure and don't make wars for power. Just "humans" do.