DEV Community

Kevin Nguyen
Kevin Nguyen

Posted on

Passing the AWS developer certificate course

Context

  • My company (Appian) provides a generous offering of ~$7,000 AUD per year for self-study. The catch though is you have to pass in order to receive the full subsidy.
  • For a while now, I've been eyeing for this certification, finally comited and booked the exam with 2 months to study for it.
  • Did the studying outside of work (this involved nights and weekends).

Study plan

Lectures

  • Started to watch Stephanie Maarek's Ultimate AWS Certified Developer Associate 2021 - NEW!
  • For the first few weeks, I watched the lectures and did the follow along.
  • The pace though was a bit slow so by week 4 / half way, I only finished around 30% of the course content.
  • To speed things up, I skipped the follow along and watch the videos on 2x speed (sometimes 3x with the javascript)
document.querySelector('video').playbackRate = 3.0
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • Did the above method for 3 weeks. With 1 week left, and around 80% done. I took 3 days of work off and watched the rest of it with 2 days to spare.

Practice Papers

  • On the last 2 days, I did 8 practice papers from Stephanie and Neal's practice papers on Udemy (see below).
  • The practice paper revision process was:
    1. Speed run the practice paper and see what area I was weak on.
    2. Do some revision (usually reviewing the lecture slides and these github notes)
    3. Practice the same test again to make sure I remember the mistakes and move on to the next test. Since the above process was to make sure I understand my content, I sped through each practice paper (completing them on average in 30 minutes - it's either I knew the answer or I don't).
  • Near the end though, because of the time constraint, I just practice the paper without doing the revision. At this point I felt like I have a decent chance of passing the exam

  • Score on each practice exam (I didn't do it in this order, rather a mix of both courses but generally starting from Practice Test 1 to 5)

  • "Practice Exams | AWS Certified Developer" by Stephanie Maarek

    Practice Test Attempt Reattempt
    Practice 1 66% 95%
    Practice 2 70% 93%
    Practice 3 70% 90%
    Practice 4 80% 89%
    Practice 5 81% 95%
  • "AWS Certified Developer Associate Practice Exam" By Neal Davis

    Practice Test Attempt Reattempt
    Practice 1 69% -
    Practice 2 80% 92%
    Practice 3 73% -
    Practice 4 81% -

Exam

  • Booked in on-line with PSI, process was painless / pretty easy.
  • Went to the in-person exam at Bella Vista , couldn't find parking though so glad I went in 4 hours early (Parked at Mcdonalds nearby and did some more practice papers before the test).
  • The actual exam process was a computer and all the questions on a slide (UI was outdated and a bit laggy).
  • Finished the exam in an hour. ## Results
  • I passed the AWS developer associate exam with 905/1000.
  • Got Appian to re-imburse the amount in full 😁.

Hope it helps! Feel free to ping me on twitter (@kndwindev) if you have any questions!

Top comments (0)