DEV Community

Mohamed Allam
Mohamed Allam

Posted on

Why you should learn go?

Intro

Its 2022, 5 years since I started my first Laravel application, and I never wanted to look to anything else, to embrace the framework and learn it intimately.

The beginning of this year, I made a little research in the programming languages and tried to figure out another programming language to learn.

Right of the bad, I did see some comparisons and saw a difference in old vs new programming languages, and my heart instantly fell in love with new programming languages.

The newer programming languages

So in the landscape of more than a thousands choice, I have limited my choices to:

Dart (Flutters' language)
Swift (Apple snob?)
Elixir (Atom model)
Golang (yeah)

Most hardwares that existed when C or PHP was created, are not only obsolete but also different, particularly multi threaded processors.
Therefor the languages too had to make some changes, through updates, patches, new versions.
But when it comes to this new language, they are built from the ground up to consume and embrace the hardware of today.

In my research I come across

  • StackOverFlow surveys
  • JetBrains surveys
  • Tiobe index
  • PYPL
  • HackerRank report
  • Hired reportd
  • Github Octoverse

Extra

As an extra, I did scroll through some benchmarking frameworks.

Buttom line

Golang is among best programming languages to learn in 2022
.

Top comments (0)