DEV Community

pjl5401
pjl5401

Posted on

Physical Version of ER Diagram + Aura App Opinions

After I first read the article by Zack Whittaker, the thought that came into my mind was the fact that this is absolutely ridiculous. I believe that it is a complete invasion of privacy and that a university does not have the right to track their students every move to reduce the coronavirus spread. In my opinion, there is a much better way of going about this that does not interfere with student’s personal privacy. While in theory some may think it is a good idea for contact tracing, it is a major privacy concern.

I personally believe that this app is intrusive and not necessary at all. The fact that Albion College thinks that this is a good idea is actually scary. This to me is intrusive because the university is asking their students to give up their right to privacy in order to attend their university. There are many different and better ways to go about contact tracing without tracking students phones every second of the day. Students have a right to their privacy, and they should be able to choose whether they want their university tracking their phones or not.

If Penn State were to implement the Aura App system into their students and make it mandatory, I personally would feel as if they are taking away my right to privacy. I would not accept it and find a way to opt out of it. Where I am located at a given time is my own business and not the university’s. I am guessing that the reason Penn State has not implemented this app system is because it does violate student’s privacy rights and most students would most likely not comply.

I think that privacy of data in certain ways is in fact more valuable than safety. I believe that privacy is a way to keep people safe. With programs like this coming out that are tracking your location 24/7, it can be a valuable target for hackers to find your location and track you down. Although privacy is very important, safety can also come before privacy. For example, if your life is in danger and you are unable to give up your location, authorities can track you to find where you are and send immediate help. In this circumstance, I believe that it is different. In that situation, it is life or death whether you are able to receive help or not. With this app, college students are not at the risk of death with contracting the virus, so I believe that it is not necessary.

Other ways that are more ethical to contact trace would include receiving a phone call from a health service asking questions about your location instead. That way it is voluntarily giving up information. Another way to solve this issue with tech is to possibly have students fill out a form or an online survey to say where they have been and where they may have contracted the virus.

Attached is my updated version of my original ER diagram, along with the new physical ER diagram that I have created.

Physical:
Alt Text
Conceptual:
Alt Text
Here is the link to my video explaining my diagrams:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJl3Ct-HTgk

Top comments (0)