DEV Community

Sandra Drago
Sandra Drago

Posted on

Why won't my HP printer driver install?

HP printers are famous as they are of high-quality and if you are using it for years now, you must know that how versatile they work. HP printers can work flawlesslyonly when you install a compatible driver for them as per the model you have. However, things don’t always go smooth as per the plan and several times you may be unable to Install HP Printer and Driver.
This can happen for several reasons such as you are getting the error codes while installing the printer driver or you have just updated to Windows 10 and are facing issues in installing the HP driver.
To fix this issue, you must try using in-built troubleshooter provided by Windows 10 and for other versions, you can try to restart the printer spooler service as that may fix the issue. You can also delete the printer keys and if you think your printer has outdated or corrupted driver, you can try updating it manually.If HP printer driver was not installed, this will help.
For More Information: https://www.printeralign.com/how-to-update-hp-printer-drivers

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
philips_salt_2e560e0fbb64 profile image
philips salt • Edited

After Windows installed the Creators Fall Update, I have not been able to print from any program, including Word Pad, Notepad, My Word processing program, LibreOffice, or any photo editing program. The printing feature doesn't list the HP Photosmart B210a as a best printer to use. They only list 'Print To File'.

My printer shows that it is connected through the WiFi network. And all this worked BEFORE the Creators Fall Update.

I have uninstalled drivers and tried to install new drivers from the HP Driver Support pages. The Drivers (full or basic). The thing is when I download the Full Drivers, it installed as the BASIC driver.. until I uninstall everything by following instructions in another post to uninstall all drivers........

Now, no drivers install.. the wizard recognizes my printer yet stops at the point of actually installing the driver that says:

Operation could not compelete.

Other installation proceedures have given various errors such as:

Error5: Printer Port failed to add port monitor.

And Windows Error 0x00000709 and 0x00000002

Windows can't open Add Printer, Access is denied.

I was able to install Scan. It's a seperate app from Microsoft Apps. When I click on the Icon I can Scan from my computer and use the scanner on my HP Printer. Go figure.. I can also scan from HP Smart, but I can't print.

Why can't I install drivers so that my programs will recognize my printer to print a document? I need to print documents. I have no other printer. This one worked under Windows 10 Pro untill the Creators Fall Update installed.

The drivers for my printer at HP need to be updated for Windows 10 and what ever security features they updated.

I realize it's an old printer, but it has worked for all these years just fine until the Windows 10 CFU.