DEV Community

Cover image for Characterize Your Project!
Stanley Chan
Stanley Chan

Posted on

Characterize Your Project!

History, Story, Movie Lovers wanted!

Do you want to give your project a cool name? A name with symbolic and profound meaning?

Say goodbye to random project name generators, and their terrible names (Mighty Husky, Warm Cup and etc)

Meet Characterize!

Github repo

Image description

Motivation

As a developer, I have a lot side project ideas. And I always want cool names for them that mean something (not "Bronze Husky" from random project name generator). But something like Oracle(Matrix), a symbol of wisdom, and Gandalf(LOTR), the symbol of goodness.

Make it great together

I am no expert in history and neither do I know a lot of characters in movies and stories. But I believe many of you reading this are:) Now, the database need a lot more records. So I am inviting everyone to add characters you love to the database!

Contribute to the Database

Add characters that have a symbolic meaning or represents certain values. For example, good, evil, wisdom, ignorance, love and hatred.

Contribute to the code and docs

This is my first time starting an open source project so feel free to make it more open source friendly in case I miss anything!

I believe in the power of open-source. Spread the word!

Top comments (0)