DEV Community

Cover image for My 100 days of configuring VPS
Wojciech Wernicki
Wojciech Wernicki

Posted on

My 100 days of configuring VPS

Hello guys!

With this post, I want to start my journey with servers. My main challenge is to configure and maintain my own VPS machine. I'm going to describe how and why install and setup certain packages or optimize my applications and websites.

VPS choice

I picked VPS from OVH. In my opinion they have pretty good and cheap offer for private servers (starting from $3.50/month). I decided to go with "Essential" package that comes with 2 vCores, 4 GB RAM and 80 GB storage, which I consider to be enough for my needs. Also, during ordering server I chose Ubuntu 20.04 as operating system as that is my most favourite and known OS which I used to set up servers in the past.

Why VPS?

My current position is software developer, I specialize in frontend. I have a bunch of ideas I would love to create in the near future, also I wanted to connect this with learning how to set up and maintain private server, as I've forgotten how to do that during past few years.


I hope you will enjoy this series and knowledge that I will share with you. Bear in mind that it won't be my original content, rather compilation of my new knowledge thanks to the Internet. At the end of each post I'm going to leave some links to documentation and sources which I used for each part of this process.


Cover image: Photo by Taylor Vick on Unsplash

Top comments (0)