DEV Community

Alexander6
Alexander6

Posted on

Create an App with EXPO (1)

Hi,guys,after finishing my fullstack project with Nest.j/Typeorm/Mysql/Aws/Vue3, I am going to start a new application with React Native. what is this app for? I don't know for now. the first function that comes to my mind is that it should support chatting and posting.

So let't start it.

As my past experience, we'd better do anything from zero unless for a studying purpose. After searching for many starter template, I decided to use this starter bio.

As for the node package manager,I very recommend using pnpm instead of npm or yarn.for the reason, you can just google it.but pay attention here, sometimes the project maybe failed when running 'pnpm install' or 'pnpm dev'. in that times you should fix errors accourding to console outputs, and you have to change back to npm to resolve that problem. it's confusing but work.

And there are also many unexpected problems when using biotemplate like obytes, because it has combined so many libs, so you may have to deal with dependencies installing error.

Here is one error I met when running pnpm ios, it will exec pod install ,and the MMKV used by react-native-mmkv blocked my way.

Image description

error: 11397 bytes of body are still expected
fetch-pack: unexpected disconnect while reading sideband packet
fatal: early EOF
this error is often when installing a javascript dependency whose link is in this pattern: "https://github.com/xxxx/dependency.git".

ChatGPT told me that I can change the protocol from https to git.But this MMKV lib is called by react-native-mmkv, I can't just change it's link. Here is the solution

  • first ,change the global git config by running this command

    git config --global url."git@github.com:".insteadOf "https://github.com/"

  • check the command runs successfully,and the URL rewrite rule has been added correctly:

    git config --global --get-regexp url

  • you will see an output similar to this

    url.git@github.com:.insteadof https://github.com/

After doing this, I tried pnpm ios, wating for the installation

Fine, I stuck here for 1 hour

Image description

it looks like a problem of my network, after changing a WIFI, the installation finished and successfully run in iOS simulator.

Now, we have some basic features

  • Login Page
    login page

  • post list & tabs
    post list & tabs

  • issue post
    issue post

we can modify the interface and add new tabs according our specific needs.

I will summarize main features about the application.

Top comments (0)