DEV Community

Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on

Daily Life as a Practice

And Friday rolls around, yet again! The days of the week now tend to blend together, so it feels like the weekend is just another set of days tacked on to the long stretch of confinement, but alas we all float on.

Today my main focus will be on starting the next section of my JavaScript course - something that's been on my to-do list probably every day this week but has yet to be actually implemented. No time like the present!

Anyway, I came upon this little nugget in my morning reading (surprise! It's once again from Steven Pressfield's Turning Pro):

Our work is a practice. One bad day is nothing to us. Ten bad days are nothing.

This is so true for so many things in my life currently. In times like these, it feels simple and almost effortless for me to get all the way back to basics. To stick to my morning routine. To carry on with my daily habits. To view it all as playing the long game.

I've noticed a lot of people in my life are finding it difficult to adapt to staying and working from home (with less freedom of going out, etc). For me, it's the best time to get back to those basics and to take advantage of the time to start building and further cultivating good habits - whether that be with exercising, meditating, writing, getting a good night's sleep, or anything else.

If we start viewing our daily habits as individual practices that we show up for as often as we promise ourselves we will, we won't fall victim to obstacles or setbacks. We'll just pick back up tomorrow and carry on with our amazing lives.

This post was originally published on March 27, 2020 on my blog.

Top comments (0)