DEV Community

Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on

Diving into March (and Coding)

Happy Monday and happy March! Starting off Month #3 of 2020 already - crazy, but in a good way! I personally feel great about it because in other times, each new month was accompanied by feelings of 'How the heck is it already March?!' and 'Time is passing me by and I don't even know where it's going!!'

From my previous post - I admittedly didn't get much coding done on Friday. I mentioned I try not to code on the weekends, but even on Friday it was tough for me to get in the zone - so I kind of didn't lol. I think I may have cracked open the text editor for an hour at best, added a new feature to the budget app I'm building along with my JS course, and called it a day.

But all in all, we're doin' quite alright, folks! Today I'm pretty tired, but I'm angling to get back into the coding mix. This week, my goal is to finish the budget app tutorial, and also to get really comfortable with it's structure and how the different modules of code fit together (still kind of mind-boggling, but I can feel those neurons firing upstairs!).

That way, next week, I can take it all apart and build it back up again!

So, as I prepare myself to dive back into all the code, here's a great quote I picked up from From Steven Pressfield's The War of Art this morning:

There's no mystery to turning pro. It's a decision brought about by an act of will. We make up our minds to view ourselves as pros and we do it. Simple as that.

In the interest of turning pro, I'm now heading into battle - despite the start-of-the-week drowsiness. Wish me luck!

This post was originally published on March 2, 2020 on my blog.

Top comments (0)