DEV Community

Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on • Updated on

What I'm Learning from Pulling Back Instead of Forging Ahead

This post was originally published on May 11, 2020 on my blog.

Happy Monday! Weekend was good, despite my constant inner battle of trying to get some quality brain-rest as opposed to just pushing for working on one more thing. (A conscious work in progress, mind you!)

Thankfully, I'd say that the restfulness won out overall. For this week, my focus is on actively noticing if I'm starting to feel stressed or overwhelmed and then making the conscious decision to actually pull back instead of pushing myself.

It feels counterintuitive, for sure - to press the brakes when I'm starting to feel the overwhelm of the work I need to do. But the thing is, in the grand scheme of things, I think my brain is viewing the work that could be done over the course of weeks and months as something to be done and neatly wrapped up by the end of the day or week.

And that's bananas!

Our brains aren't actively trying to stress us out, they've just been so conditioned by high-achievers to constantly push for more, more, more (!!!) that if they don't feel constantly in motion, then they feel like something's wrong.

This week is about working on that for me.

Aside from that inner work, I've got a couple goodies on my plate. This week I'll be finishing my client project (web design), so that'll be awesome. I've also got a HackerRank coding assessment to complete by Thursday - so that is also top of mind.

In fact, I've made it a goal of mine to spend one hour each day - since Saturday, I think (?) - practicing problem sets on HackerRank to get myself used to the format and all that fun stuff. I'm actually really loving it - for me, it's like solving challenging puzzles and sometimes I just can't get enough. (Hence, the one-hour time limit...)

Okay, this is starting to get long. I'm off to start my week - cheers to all!

Top comments (0)