DEV Community

Cover image for #6 DevOps Diary: Recap of My First KubeCon
AnaisUrlichs
AnaisUrlichs

Posted on • Originally published at blog.anaisurl.com

#6 DevOps Diary: Recap of My First KubeCon

Hey everyone, I hope you have/are having a lovely day and Welcome to week 6 ๐Ÿฅณ

I just attended my first KubeCon! Since it was KubeCon North America, I only managed to attend half of the talks but got to hear some great content + connect with some awesome people, and can't wait until they post the content online.

This week focuses on some of the content that the community has shared throughout KubeCon.

Videos ๐ŸŽฅ

  • KubeCon hosted live streams โ€” including discussions and presentations โ€” on their Twitch channel before and after every conference day
  • Codefresh hosted a hallway track at the end of every conference day โ€” check-it out, you get the gist of the main takeaways and the input from the speakers

Blog Posts ๐Ÿ—ž๏ธ

News ๐Ÿ“ข

Amazon, Codefresh, GitHub, Microsoft, and Weaveworks are announcing the creation of the GitOps Working Group. This will be an open CNCF community project.

If you want to get started with GitOps, check-out these two summaries: One and two and more content from my previous newsletter.

Communities ๐Ÿ‘ฅ

This week, I want to give a shout-out to Codefresh. We have this program, called Blog for Good, basically:

Write a relevant blog post for Codefresh, and weโ€™ll donate $250 to one of the six charities below โ€” your choice. Plus youโ€™ll get another $250 to keep (or, you could donate it all.) Itโ€™s a win-win.

If you are interested in participating, please reach out, I would love to hear from you.

My Telegram @urlichsanais

Tip of the Week ๐Ÿ’ก

One of the best keynotes at Kubecon was a panel discussion between: Brad Geesaman, Ian Coldwater, Rory McCune, Duffie Cooley

The main takeaway (and I rephrase here) by IanColdwater was: Everything they do isn't magic (even though it might seem that way) but instead years of practice โ€” everyone can do it, you just have to practice. So keep practicing!

Alt Text

Sticky-Content ๐Ÿ“Œ

  • You can find a collection of all the resources that I list in the DevOps newsletter + additional notes etc. on the public notion page
  • We just kicked off our DevOps learning group with the first presentation happening next week. if you would like to join, please either message me on Telegram (@urlichsanais) or on Twitter. I would love to hear from you ๐Ÿ™‚

Events ๐ŸŒ

Tweet of the Week ๐Ÿฆ

We all need more puppies in our lives โ€” Tweet by Benjamin Elder (also Top Committer)

Alt Text

Continuing Every Weekโ€Šโ€”โ€ŠMake sure to follow and to subscribe for special content and regularย updates!

If you would like to have content included, please get in touch on Twitter or my website ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿผ

Top comments (2)

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.