DEV Community

Marcus Bladh
Marcus Bladh

Posted on

Getting ready for AWS re:Invent 2023

AWS re:Invent is upon us. For cloud enthusiasts all over this means we are getting ready for almost a full week jam packed with learning and networking.

In this post I'll share some of my thoughts on preparing for the event as well as how I approach the actual conference.

Pre-preinvent
This is the part where I spend time figuring out what I want to get out of the trip. For me the most important part is learning what's going on in my field. Check out the session catalog is my first step. For this year I used a Community built planner. I have a set of filters to make sure I don't drown in the thousands of different sessions.

This will be my first tip! Focus on sessions that are not recorded! Generally all breakout sessions will be recorded and posted on youtube over time. There is nothing wrong with going to these, but if you are conflicted between sessions my recommendation is to always go for the one that isn't recorded.

In my experience, workshops are great to get an introduction to services you are curious about but don't have much hands-on experience with. Most of the workshops, if not all can be found in this repo on GitHub. The benefit of attending the workshop is that you will not have to pay for the resource you use as well you have access to excellent mentors. It is also a very good way to meet people! During talks you usually just listen, but for hands-on stuff you are around a table with other people and you or someone around the table will get stuck eventually.

I try to go for chalk talks, dev chats and builders' sessions. Mostly because these tend to be 300 or 400 levels which I feel are more interesting for me. I will certainly sprinkle in some 200 level content as well, especially for new services!

If you want to experience the best, in my opinion, type of session at re:Invent you need to sign up for a GameJam! These are gamified sessions where you team up a few people and solve real problems using different AWS services. There are different flavours so you can focus on general knowlede, security and other themes. If you're travelling alone don't be alarmed. There are always plenty of people showing up alone. The staff will make sure that you will be on a team and have a great experience.

With that said, here are some of the sessions I'm looking forward to the most:

  • DOP318 - Testing for resilience with AWS FIS. I'm a big fan of Chaos engineering and this chalk talk is a perfect start to the monday morning for me.
  • COM206 - The hidden costs of external tools. This talk is a communnity session by a friend and colleague of mine. Super excited to listen to this!
  • SAS408 - Chaos and SaaS. Another chaos engineering chalk talk with a focus on multi-tenant architecture.
  • STG339 - Best practices for cost optimization with AWS Backup. Saving money is always a good thing so I'm eager to pick up some tips and tricks here.

Bonus one:

  • GHJ204 - AWS Jam: Generative AI. I'm curious about learning more about GAI and AWS Bedrock so you will most likely find me here!

Reserved seating will open up on the 17th of October.

preinvent
This part covers what I recommend packing to make sure you survive Las Vegas.

Vegas is very dry! Pack chapstick or make sure to buy some as soon as you touch down. Your lips will be forever grateful.

The strip is also deceptively long. So make sure to pack comfortable shoes. There are shuttles taking you for free between the different venues but if you're like me and like the walk between sessions, you're in for quite the hike. Take this into account when scheduling as well. Walking from Wynn to Mandalay Bay is roughly an hour walk.

If you're dry and walking a lot, a good idea is to bring a water bottle. Over the past few years, except for 2021, you've been given a water bottle as part of your welcome SWAG but it's never a bad thing to bring one just in case.

I like to bring my laptop with me everywhere, as well as a notebook, snacks and stickers during the entire day. Thus I recommend a rommy and comfortable backpack.

And perhaps most important, make sure that you can charge your devices when you're there. Converters are good to bring. It's obviously possible to use Amazon and ship to one of the many lockers around Vegas in case you forget one. I spent half a day last year trying to find one since the one I brought was broken. So bring two!

And the most important part about it all? Make sure to HAVE FUN. You don't have to pack every second with something. It's fine to just walk around and look at stuff! I'm an introvert so I try to save up enough of my energy to be social during this week. This means talking to people in the hallways, attending networking events or just talking to people at the lunch tables. But I also make sure to listen to my body so if I need it, I'll spend a while in my hotel room all alone and recovering.

With that said, if you see me in Vegas, don't be shy and just say hi.

Top comments (0)