DEV Community

Benjamin McShane
Benjamin McShane

Posted on

CSS from a Novice Perspective.

We didn’t spend too much time learning about CSS, it was always kind of an afterthought when compared to our studies in JavaScript. Playing around with it now, I kind of understand why this was the case. CSS is incredibly intuitive, and incredibly easy. Unless there is a massively secret set of mechanics inside CSS, that no one has decided to share with me, then all the language does is allow you to apply stylistic information outside of your html. Theoretically, you absolutely could do most (if not all) of the same stylistic detailing directly inside your HTML document.

You shouldn’t, obviously, that would be impossible to look at. It just fascinates me that, CSS is primarily just used as a notepad for your HTML script to reference when deciding how things look.

Outside of how it’s mechanically used, I’ve found myself having a ton of fun using CSS. It is very gratifying to make a page look good, and that is the entire purpose of the language. It is also incredibly simple and intuitive; half the time, whenever I’m trying to do something new, I can just type something adjacent into the console, and it will autocomplete the exact command I’m trying to do. Between the satisfaction of good looking U.I. and the simplicity of use, I have to say that CSS is my favorite part of front end design so far. I wish it was organized a little nicer however.

Image description

^
I'm certain there has to be a nicer way to organize all this.

Top comments (0)