DEV Community

Christian Duarte
Christian Duarte

Posted on

Week 2

def week_two():
    print("Back again.")

week_two()
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Code review...

This week, I was tasked with reviewing a partner's code, creating issues, testing, and finding bugs.

I found it interesting looking through someone else's code. Looking at how they think, and approach decide certain things in their program. But I have to say, I did enjoy it.

I did have some problems at first running the program, and figuring out how to use it as my partner hadn't yet implemented a README.md, but once we called, I had no further issues.

I actually liked having someone review my code as it allowed me to gain some insight into new ideas and practices I can implement in my code. Things I thought were simple, turned out to not be, and things I need to improve on surfaced, and allowed me to get a better insight of how to approach my coding.

Async vs sync...

In terms of doing the actual review, I always prefer to speak directly with someone. Asynchronous work is fine for me, but I like to explain my thoughts face to face, or over call, and have the same done for having my code reviewed. I feel that this approach allows me to get my point(s) across best and allows me to best understand the review process.

Issues...

In my testing and review, the only issue I had for reviewing was the missing README.md documentation. Once provided it was all good and I was able to effectively test my partner's code.

For the receiving part, I had a lot more issues than I realized. I didn't notice certain bugs such as my bin script wasn't working, in which I then had to go and edit my package.json file. Another issue I had was with my file paths, and the reading of a file. Previously I had it so thatyou type a file name and then the CLI tool will grab the file straight from the src folder. If you typed a file path that wasn't from the src folder or even referenced src like ./src/, then the program would fail and not read the file. Now my program is able to accept both and I was able to implement a solution to that issue that my partner had pointed out to me.

In my partner's code, I found issues such as the package.json file requiring a start script. It was missing and the program was unable to be run with a default or start named script. https://github.com/Add00/DocBot/issues/2

I also found an error in which his tool would create a file or continue on with the working process despite no file being found. https://github.com/Add00/DocBot/issues/4

For my issues, they are located at: https://github.com/cduarte3/f2read/issues?q=is%3Aissue+is%3Aclosed

And I was able to close them all. They were pretty simple fixes for now as there was not too big of things to work on with this first release. But I am happy with the way my project is coming along thus far.

Process

Overall in this process I found that everyone has a different way of thinking, approaching problems, and creating solutions. I also found that I like reviewing code with another person over a call or in person, and it was nice to get feedback on how I can improve my programming skills on this project and more in the future.

13-09-2024 - Christian Duarte

Top comments (0)