DEV Community

Clifton Molina
Clifton Molina

Posted on • Originally published at blog.kriftonite.com on

OneNote to Markdown

Alt Text

How to Convert OneNote to Markdown

My current role at work involves writing lots and lots of documentation which I prefer to draft, for organization reasons, OneNote. The notebooks, tabs and cloud syncing features fit the bill for me and the Android app isn't half bad. The biggest gripe I have with OneNote, really the entire Microsoft Office suite in general, is lack of rich extensibility. I haven't looked into writing extensions myself, but the complete dearth of options that come up via a Google search suggests either, I'm the only person using OneNote or writing extensions is a chore not worth the effort.

This really became a problem for me today when I needed to move my draft documents to the company Azure DevOps Server team wiki which uses Markdown. Before giving up entirely and formatting Markdown by hand, I made one final attempt at my Google-Fu and settled for what I thought was an online-only option. This is less than ideal since I would need to pass proprietary company information through it, but proved worth the click as it contained a GitHub link at the bottom. What follows from here is a quick and dirty guide to setting up Word-To-Markdown on Windows… Big shout-out to Ben Balter for making this utility available!

Word2Markdown

GitHub - Online

Author : Ben Balter, Senior Product Manager, GitHub

Blog Post : We've Been Trained To Make Paper

Dependencies

Installation

gem install word-to-markdown

Usage

  1. Generate documentation in OneNote
  2. Windows 10 users must open OneNote 2016, not the OneNote App
  3. File > Export to Word
  4. Open command prompt
  5. Type: w2m WordDoc.docx > Markdown.md

Top comments (0)