DEV Community

dgloriaweb
dgloriaweb

Posted on

Upwork cheats clients into undeserved payment for freelancers who don't do the job

I've been shocked to see how amateur upwork is. I've hired someone for a job, and we have exchanged a few messages, and it turned out the freelancer is not able/not willing to solve the problem. Since I have sent an offer, to be fair, I have been deposited the amount on upwork. But the job wasn't done and the freelancer refused to spend more time on it, and so I went to close the contract with no fulfillment. And then the shock came. There is no such thing! There is nothing like "the freelancer must be fair and knowledgeable, but they can't or won't solve this issue". There should be a dispute if you have a contract, so you are forced to pay even if the freelancer did nothing but waste your time with messaging. I feel bad, because this should be a win-win, even if one person can't do the job. But if I have to go to dispute after every hiring, because they can't fix the problem, that's a bad practice. Why can't I just write milestone not met, and end contract without payment?

Top comments (0)