DEV Community

Jersey Fonseca
Jersey Fonseca

Posted on

Becoming Cyborg

While this probably isn't your traditional accomplishment post, one of my favorite tech moments this year was becoming a cyborg! I hope that this is a good break from reading through every file of people's Github repositories!

At the beginning of the year, I had a microchip with both RFID and NFC implanted into my hand. If you don't know about what those terms mean, they are Radio Frequency technologies. They usually encode data for authentication, or just for general purposes. You use this technology when tap your phone to pay for things, or (used to) tap your ID to get into school buildings.

Alt Text

So, what can I do with it? I can tap into school buildings if I am authorized to do so, pay for things, tap onto the Bus, make myself an amiibo, etc.; all with my hand! The biggest thing I've been using it for, though, is to send people to my website. (www.jerseyfonseca.com might as well plug here) It's a really fun conversation starter, and, well, it gets people to my website; win win!

Top comments (0)