DEV Community

Cover image for How do you balance what you learn?
Jonathan Yeong
Jonathan Yeong

Posted on

How do you balance what you learn?

Lately, I've been trying to become more of a full stack developer. I love that the internet has so much information but sometimes it's overwhelming.

How do you prioritize what to learn? And more importantly, how do you prevent burnout?


Photo by 青 晨 on Unsplash

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
aliracoffman profile image
Alira Coffman

Personally, I make a rough outline of a learning plan. I decide what I want to learn and then what my goals are with learning it. Then once I reach those or am satisfied enough with what I learned from it, I move on.

For example, recently I have been wanting to learn Rust. So I started out with a small tutorial, picked a couple projects I want to make and started. I also listed to podcasts. It is a language I am really enjoying. But ones that I do not enjoy, for example, nodeJS. I started learning it, made a goal to get the basic understanding, then left it cause it didn't speak to me.

My main suggestion to you is find a language or topic that you are interested in and passionate about. Find a language that speaks to you! And remember, you are doing this for you: your growth, your learning, your goals, not anyone else's. Then, everything else falls in line.

Collapse
 
jonoyeong profile image
Jonathan Yeong

I really like the intentions you set when you first start learning something.

your growth, your learning, your goals, not anyone else's.

Next time I find myself getting overwhelmed, I'll remind myself why I'm doing this. Thankyou for your comment!

Collapse
 
mxldevs profile image
MxL Devs

I start with a goal and figure out what I need to learn.

I prioritize things that I don't know because maybe it'll integrate nicely with what I already know, or maybe I will need to change my entire design cause the new stuff is just so much better. Don't get stuck trying to work things the way you think it should work.

Create milestones, pace out your steps, take breaks when you've accomplished each step.

Sometimes the problem will be so big that you have no idea how to even break it down into steps. At that point you have your goal, you have maybe some possible starting points...Then you just have to wade around and seeing what your options are. You might find a path to the goal, or you might not.

It's always OK to ask for directions if you're lost.

Collapse
 
wulymammoth profile image
David

I don't -- I just dig into what seems interesting. I ignore the news, but follow people that I find interesting on YouTube, Twitter, Hacker News, and Reddit. I lurk a lot, but I also chime in a decent amount. I consider myself a lucky one that isn't in the midst of a job search. I somewhat feel that I've been afforded an opportunity of a lifetime to just drift and explore things that I want to explore.

And lastly, no pressure. These are tough times and I blame no one for just straight chillin', cruisin', and generally just lounging and binging on whatever brings one comfort.

Collapse
 
jonoyeong profile image
Jonathan Yeong

I definitely do a lot of lurking! And I totally agree that just chilling is okay as well!