DEV Community

Cover image for Hello, scarcity mindset
Keenan Payne
Keenan Payne

Posted on • Originally published at keenanpayne.com

Hello, scarcity mindset

The scarcity mindset frames our current circumstances as "not enough." It's feast or famine as a freelancer, so you better eat while you can. I fell victim to the scarcity mindset while freelancing, which caused me to accept more projects than I could personally handle. Doing so caused ripple effects throughout my entire life:

  • I struggled to push myself outside of my comfort zone.
  • I became way too profit-driven.
  • Managing client projects became more complicated.
  • Hiring people required me to manage their work and increased my financial complexities.
  • I couldn't fully invest myself in a single project because I was spread too thin.

As a result of all of this, I got burnt out. This led to many bouts with anxiety; my body felt worse; and countless servings of stress, overwhelm, and unhappiness.

As a freelancer, if you're not working, you're not eating. Lacking a regular paycheck can make the future seem uncertain, especially for anyone who has been through a client drought.

Still, we should all be aware of the tendency to fall into a scarcity mindset. This awareness can help with mindful decision-making.

I'd be curious to know how I would feel if I were to do another year of freelancing and try keeping my scarcity mindset in check.

How would reducing the hustle and raising my investment in each project change how I feel?

Would I be more satisfied with what I've done and provide myself with room to grow?

Photo by Florian van Duyn on Unsplash

Top comments (0)