DEV Community

Cover image for Developer diary #18. Programming and sport
Kiolk
Kiolk

Posted on

Developer diary #18. Programming and sport

More than half a year ago, I started to actively ride my bike. During the week, I have several training sessions when I ride from 30 to 70 kilometers. One month ago, I started running. I try to cover 5 kilometers every day. All these exercises have a linear character, you have a goal for the distance and time that you spend to cover them.  Because, exercise requires a lot of time, you are very focused on your feelings. During this time, you analyze how the body reacts to activity. Practice on a regular basis gives you good experience with how to reach a goal, your speed of progress, and your capacity.
 
So, how does it relate to programming? I noticed several points. First, I listen to podcasts about programming and education during exercises. It is a good example of a useful combination of two activities. Also, it is a good time to analyze your day, solve technical problems, or make plans for the next post.  Second, exercises after work days recharge you, and you get more energy to do some additional extra work. Third, and more interestingly, It helps me reach my goals. Because, quick progress on early steps of exercise motivates me to push my work tasks and drive me to do other activities.

I think, physical exercise is a good activity for programmers. They not only make us stronger, but also make us more confident in ourselves and teach us how to reach targets.

You can find me in X, GitHub, medium or LinkedIn. Thanks for your time and see you in next post.

Top comments (0)