DEV Community

lx4r
lx4r

Posted on

Which tools/language to use to build desktop apps in 2019?

Hey everyone,
I'm trying to decide on which tools/language to use to realize an idea I have for a desktop application which would include a GUI. Right now I have some JavaScript and TypeScript experience.
What tools and which language should I use to embark on this desktop app journey in 2019? Would you e.g. recommend sticking with JS/TS and build the app in Electron despite its performance problems or maybe I should learn Java, Kotlin, or Python?
Looking forward to an interesting discussion :)

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

I don't know the status of the project (probably still experimental though) but Revery seems like a cool idea.

@kayis talks about it here:

(there's some useful info in the comments too)

Collapse
 
lx4r profile image
lx4r

Thanks, I'll take a look. :)

Collapse
 
ackzell profile image
Axel Martínez

Maybe a bit late to the party, but I think this is a good place to take a look: xpda.net/

Self plug: I have a YouTube playlist where we build an app step by step (as of this moment it has 5+ hours of content) here

Cheers!