DEV Community

Cover image for My First Open-Source Contribution: HacktoberFest
Jeevika Wadhwa
Jeevika Wadhwa

Posted on

My First Open-Source Contribution: HacktoberFest

My Hacktoberfest journey

  • I learned to contribute to open-source, 🤩🥳 and trust me nothing can be more satisfying than this.
  • Being a newbie I knew Data Structures and Algorithms, so I contributed to those repositories that were related to DSA.
  • I really got happy when my name was there in the contributors' list of that project.
  • The repository I contributed to was beginner-friendly, each and every step was clearly mentioned.
  • Before contributing I thought of taking some course on Git and Github as I used to think this would be complicated, however when I started contributed it became super easy. Moral: You learn by doing.
  • I even owe this first post to Hacktoberfest. 🥳🤗🎉🎉
  • I will always remember that my first pull request was made because of Hacktoberfest 2020. Thank you Hacktoberfest 2020 @DigitalOcean Truly loved it. 🤗🥳🎉

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
shravan20 profile image
Shravan Kumar B

Feel free to contribute to this, if u are interested GitHub Dynamic Animated Quote Generator