DEV Community

Francesco Menghi
Francesco Menghi

Posted on

Telescope 3.0 alpha

With Telescope 3.0-alpha released this past Friday, we are now one release away from the big 3.0!

With this release the Docusaurus app is now live on production. It is available at https://telescope.cdot.systems/docs.

After last week's work to have a Dockerfile for both the web app and our docs, this week I added the necessary config to Nginx to deploy the Docusaurus app. It was actually easier than I expected, I just had to add the following to config/nginx.conf.template just like I previously did in our dev config:

location /docs {
  root /usr/share/nginx/html;
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Docusaurus path

I also had to fix the Docusaurus path since after adding it to nginx we ended up with /docs/docs in the path (The first /docs from nginx and the second from Docusarus). I couldn't find a good way to do it and then I remembered that pnpm uses Docusaurus for their docs and they do not have /docs in their path. In fact if you click the "Docs" link from their homepage, you are redirected to their first documentation page which is: https://pnpm.io/motivation.

Their docs are open source so I went digging and found that they have routeBasePath: '/', in their config. This did the trick for our Telescope docs.

Finally to get the app production ready I had to change the Telescope green to our Telescope blue! We still have dinosaurs on the homepage but Alex is working on a new one that should be up by the 3.0 release.

Goodbye Satellite

I moved the Satellite project inside of the Telescope monorepo last month and, this week, the time came to archive the original repo. Before clicking the big red button, I had to do some spring cleaning of the issues and PRs, change some outdated links and also remove the Satellite contribution info from the Dashboard (Something I actually added last semester).

We archived the Satellite repo but the project lives on an is healthier than ever!

Top comments (0)