DEV Community

Myroslava
Myroslava

Posted on

N-gram Models for Code Completion in Pharo

My Final Project

For my thesis, this semester I have been working on improving code completion in the Pharo IDE. It is an open source IDE meant for developing in Pharo, an object-oriented dynamically typed programming language inspired by Smalltalk. For the project I have been using n-gram models (in particular, unigram and bigram) to sort completion candidates and give more relevant suggestions.

Link to Code

https://github.com/myroslavarm/CompletionSorting

How I built it

It has been quite a challenging task as I had to make a lot of design decisions, and apart from training the models, also implemented the sorting functionality to use the end results, and an evaluation tool to measure the accuracy and effectiveness of the implemented sorters.

Top comments (0)