DEV Community

Cover image for Landed my first software engineering job!
Nolan Mayersky
Nolan Mayersky

Posted on

Landed my first software engineering job!

So, the other day I landed my first official software engineering gig! I will be doing some work for L&M Distributions and Logistics, LLC. who is based around the Philadelphia, PA. area!

I found this job through a talent agency, similar to Toptal. They require that you take and pass some coding tests to be eligible to apply for jobs in their system.

I passed my tests and I was hired on the first and only job I applied for! Quite amazing!

I met with the talent agency and the lead tech guy from L&M on a Zoom call. If I do well on this first project they have hired me for, they will also be hiring me to help build out their API.

My first order of business is to take an HTML template they have purchased and implement it into their Sinatra application. This should be a pretty easy job for me and I'm excited to start.

Hopefully they like my work and will continue to keep me on for the API project as well.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
vectornull profile image
Jose E. Rodriguez

Congrats, Nolan! Sounds like a good start!

Collapse
 
manishfoodtechs profile image
manish srivastava

Congratulations

Collapse
 
ohassidi profile image
oded hassidi

Congrats. Sounds like you are on the right path. 😉

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Hey Nolan

Congrats

Collapse
 
shivaramkrishna profile image
Shivaram Ayyalasomayajula

Congratulations Nolan!Wish you all the best.

Collapse
 
nolyoi profile image
Nolan Mayersky

Thanks for the congrats everyone!