DEV Community

NuelDotDev
NuelDotDev

Posted on

Starting Django as a Beginner

Hi, I'm Nuel and thanks for clicking.

Before I get into it, I'd like to clarify some things...

I'm a seventeen year old in his little corner of the world and this is the first time I'm taking web development serious, but, more on that later...
Unlike many writers here, I am inexperienced and relatively new to this world of programs and code but as I've recently learnt, all that matters is your level of motivation(especially in this industry).
So I've decided to document my progress here on dev.to, and I'm starting with, as the title suggests: Django. So without further ado, I begin.

Why I Picked Django

Honestly speaking... I don't know, I did a bunch of research and figured if I was going to take the step and start my career, I should probably start it with something I'm familiar with.

Quick Backstory: I started coding with HTML and a few days after, I got into CSS, later did a bunch of JavaScript(but that didn't sit well in-between my ears) I forgot about webdev completely and started chasing a different dream: Software. Python looked cool, so I hoped on it's train, I've been on and off with python for a year now, but I'm very comfortable with it, and that brings me to Today.

After a thousand google searches and many self-targeted questions, I realized I could keep pushing towards a software development career but at least I should start something first(cause the first step's important right?) though it wasn't planned, my knowledge of HTML, CSS and a bit of JavaScript left me with no other option but to go back to webdev, so that's what I did.

I decided to start working on backend and Guess what!?
Lucky me, python works backend. Did a few google searches and found the best frameworks to be Flask and Django.

While Flask is a very popular framework, Django seemed like it suited me best, and of course as a beginner I had my doubts, but being that I'm pretty comfortable with python and that Django seemed more popular than Flask, I decided to use it.

Note: This could also be due to the fact that the Django website made an impression a year ago when I accidentally visited it and didn't even know frameworks existed but we'll just act like that never happened, okay?

Installing Django

Installing Django would be as easy as 'ABC' given that you follow the instructions on the Django website correctly, if you're like me who misses a line or two every now and then, it's going to be HELL.
I literally ended up downloading a beta version of Django, had to uninstall and then install the most recent released version just to find out that nothing really changed, phew! I'm so glad I set it up successfully though, but, let's move on.

Learning Django

So Django's finally been installed and I'm one step closer to achieving my goal right? Sadly, no. I'm going to have to learn it now, but I don't think it's going to be that hard, I mean there's literally tutorial pages on the site that walks you through creating projects with it(given you follow the instructions properly of course) but remember when I said I don't do that well? Yeah, I did it again and every now and then I've got these errors that shouldn't even be happening. Either way I like to see it as a learning curve and who knows? Maybe it'll all work out... maybe

Thank You for taking the time to read, it's my first post here and I wrote it with the idea that most who read it would be new and to try my hand at writing, anyways, thanks for reading and I'd probably be posting more about my journey. Once again...

I'm Nuel and thanks for clicking!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Good luck!

Collapse
 
nueldotdev profile image
NuelDotDev

Thanks. :)