DEV Community

programerka
programerka

Posted on

Hacktoberfest 2020 - a mini overview

As October comes to its end, it's time look back to do some reflection.

Hack-tober πŸ’»

One of the most interesting things that happened this month is my first participation in contributing to open-source software, thanks to Digital ocean and their (now famous) event - Hacktober fest.
Open source always seemed so interesting to me. First, because of the concept itself, but also because the community around this software seemed very strong, very connected and... very open (pun intended).πŸ™ˆ You could always find a bunch of resources and guides on how to start contributing. The only thing I wasn't able to find was - courage!

Everybody can do it!

I somehow felt like open source was reserved for super productive developers and amazing computer scientists that can find additional time during their busy days and devote themselves to making the world a better place. Last year I also wanted to participate in Hacktoberfest, but wasn't sure if I'd fit in, or how to even start.

But, in this short yet insightful journey I learned that everybody can participate, if they want to. There are so many different repos you can work on. Hacktoberfest even compiled a comprehensive list of websites that offer easier tasks, which are just right if you are a beginner!

Starting off πŸš€

I wanted to make it easy on myself because I have a busy schedule and I didn't want to commit to something I knew I wouldn't get done. So I picked some easier tasks that I was sure I could get done in time, and my main goal was only to become more familiar with the whole fork-work-commit process.
Also, if you are not a web developer, you might find it more difficult to find tasks in your language of choice. There probably are tasks you can do in any language, it's just that the majority of them is oriented towards web development.
For example, I found some tasks for Swift, but they were a bit obscure and would have taken me a lot of time to get familiar with the whole project and think of a solution. Luckily, there are always some neutral projects you can work on, you just have to dig deeper. πŸ€‘

Reflections

Participating in this edition of Hactoberfest was my first step into the world of open source contributing, and I will for sure continue this journey.
My main goal was to become more familiar with the process, to brush up on my Git skills and just explore and see what Hacktoberfest is all about. And I enjoyed it, so I recommend it to everyone who has the slightest wish to try open source, to give it a chance next year... Even if you have no experience with coding.
Remember: It might be organized in πŸŽƒ Spooktober πŸŽƒ but you really have nothing to be scared of!!!

P.S. Did you know that this year, as your reward you could pick planting a tree (instead of a T-shirt)? 🌳

Top comments (0)