DEV Community

Cover image for Season Of Docs-Community Bonding Period, Meeting-2
Prubhtej Singh
Prubhtej Singh

Posted on • Updated on

Season Of Docs-Community Bonding Period, Meeting-2

On 2nd of September, I had a meeting with my mentors with regards to my Google's Season Of Docs project. Since we're still in the community bonding period which'll run till the 14th of September hence, I'm trying to get a bit more familiar with SynBioHub and it's nuances.
I've been able to accomplish the following tasks:-

(1) I was able to download Ruby 2.5.1 on my PC(Ubuntu 20.04), though it took almost 5 hours to download and configure the directories.

(2) I'd Successfully opened the local instance of slate on my PC using the following commands:-

cd
cd api-docs/
bundle install
bundle exec middleman server
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Also, I copied the non-API stuff locally from the API docs and hence pasted it onto the locally created SynBioHub-Documentation, and completed the following sections:

  1. About SynBioHub
  2. Installation
  3. Plugins
  4. API documentation (Already done in slate) Hence, I was able to view the documentation locally using Hugo static site generator.

(3) I was able to implement a few of the operations using The GUI of SynBioHub rather than using the API calls.
They've been listed below:

Under User Endpoints:-

  1. Successfully registered on synbiohub.org without any issues.
  2. Successfully signed out.
  3. Successfully logged in again.
  4. Successfully changed the password.
  5. Successfully viewed & edited my profile.

Under Search Endpoints:-

  1. Was able to view the root collections.
  2. Was able to view count search results.
  3. Was able to view my submissions.
  4. Was able to view the metadata on the objects that were shared with me specifically.
  5. Couldn’t understand what Sub-collections mean?
  6. Was able to use filters.
  7. Was unable to see the usage for SPARQL queries.
  8. Was unable to use sequence search.

As far as the rest of the endpoints are concerned, I'll be having a brief discussion with my mentor so as to have a better understanding of how and where can I put them to use while using the GUI of SynBioHub.

(4) Also,I had a brief conversation over the Email with Prof. Myers, regarding the Introduction and the Installation section of SynBioHub, wherein significant additions are needed so as to make user experience hassle free.

The Problems that I faced during this week:-
(1) I was facing serious trouble while downloading Ruby(v
2.5.1) on my PC since it has a few inbuilt bugs.

(2) I'm still working upon enhancing my knowledge regarding
the API endpoints.

(3) I'm still going through the research paper on
SynBioHub sent by Prof. Myers.

(4) I'm still searching for a software having a solid installations page, so as to have a slight idea on how to edit SynBioHub's installation page.

The next weekly meeting is scheduled to take place on 9th of September and I hope to clear all the queries that I have.
Also, I'll try to chalk out a rough plan with regards to the User Documentation after having a discussion with my mentors.

Top comments (0)