DEV Community

Ruben Artus
Ruben Artus

Posted on

Prototyping a new kind of online community

I'll be sharing my journey in building an online community platform that is focussed heavily on collaboration. The system encourages people to come together and build collections of helpful contents on various topics.

If this sounds a bit too broad: this project is still in it's early days and in sharing my thoughts here I'll get a better idea of the concrete implementation of this vision.

My documentation of this process will be messy and transparent. I'd be incredible thankful if you would tag along and contribute your thoughts.

Parallel to the project's development I'm researching on how to build great (online) communities and how to bring people together. Why Are We Yelling? was a great read on how to deal with disagreements and make them productive. Right now I'm reading The Culture Code (The secrets of highly successful groups) and listening to Get Together (How to build a community with your people).

I'm a very visual person and start working on UIs early in my projects – oftentimes too early. ^^ In my head I played around with the ideas for this platform for some days now and a pretty concrete structure formed. For this first mockup I just brought my thoughts "on paper". Next up I'll sketch the other important aspects of the platform and then go on to actually build a minimal version with the least necessary parts for version one.

Alt Text

That's it for now – later I'll share my thoughts on the platform's structure and how it's limitations could lead to a fruitful community.

Top comments (0)