DEV Community

Cover image for My First Virtual Hackathon | Major League Hacking 2021
Sahibdeep Singh
Sahibdeep Singh

Posted on

My First Virtual Hackathon | Major League Hacking 2021

As we know Computer Science students, IT students and working professionals are so excited about attending hackathons; I am sharing my first hackathon experience and that too virtual. So I attended the Local Hack Day : Build Hackathon hosted and powered by Major League Hacking (MLH). The opening ceremony was hosted by two amazing hosts who are organizers of most of the Hosted by MLH events. About 5000–10000 hackers from around the world participated in the Build hackathon.

What is Local Hack Day 2021 ?

So, this how it works — so after registering for the contest one has to join the Major League Hacking’s discord server where you will find many guilds and I would definitely suggest you to join our guild at EquiCode as we are one of the top in the leaderboard holding the 3rd spot .
So, after you join a guild ,you will find a lot of enthusiasts like you, who want to learn and grow.
And to earn points you and your teammates will have to register and check in daily for very simple tasks where you will learn a lot from the people at MLH and submit some forms showing that you have completed the challenge and you will earn points for yourself as well as you guild, as simple as that !
So, at the end of the day you can see both the team and individual leaderboard and thus work with you guild mates to climb to the top by earning more points .

My Experience :

I participated in almost all technical and no-technical or fun events. I was part of the EquiCode guild.
I have come to know and connect with some awesome people in just this span of 2–3 days of chatting around on the discord channels and especially today was great, as we hopped on a video call to complete a challenge named “Share the Meal”, which turned out to be pretty awesome as we discovered the pretty faces behind the discord usernames and at last our screenshots of the call ended up in the MLH’s Instagram stories .

And also here’s what I build in Cup Stacking challenge. Although I didn’t have so many cups to stack but I had books.

So, it’s going pretty great and I and my team will make sure of the fact that EquiCode wins the Local Hack Day 2021 and if not it, tries it’s best .

Top comments (0)