DEV Community

Samantha Butler
Samantha Butler

Posted on

First week of self-study

It has been about a week since I posted last. A week since I decided I was actually going to do something! So what did I do? Bare in mind I had the normal everyday routines of working, looking after my toddler and then everything else in between.

Let me review my previous goals:

Longest term goal: Developer. (Very broad but until I know the branches of the industry, this will work for now).

Long term goal: Enter a junior developer role.

Short term goal: Apply and complete a junior developer bootcamp (qa.com)

Shortest term goal: Create CV, research bootcamps and find self-taught opportunities online, blog process

So far I have done well! I have created my CV and cover letter, subscribed and began using CodeAcademy and Mimo, using this blog site to assist me AND applied for QA bootcamp opportunities.

Not every week can go this smoothly, from now on it will be relentless hours of studying (when I can) followed by blogging and looking up opportunities. My Facebook and Instagram are now targeting me for coding opportunities and I am being open minded and seeing what they have to offer. This has allowed me to begin seeing what is out there and what my potential next steps are.

I do still hope to be accepted on by QA, I've been added to a waitlist and there isn't much more I can do with this until contacted. So now I will use my time to study, revise and apply the knowledge.

Most of my time is spent on CodeAcademy - currently doing a 26 hour Swift course and I am within the 70's of completion. I would have loved to have finished this in a week but due to other responsibilities, I couldn't quite make the cut. This doesn't mean I am not committed, it simply means that any extra time I have IS being dedicated to upskilling but without neglecting my entire lifestyle.

Alongside this course I am currently studying, I have enjoyed the spare pockets of time where I use the app Mimo. This is HTML basics and adds fun mini projects to use the skills to show off on my profile. This is what I 'play' when out and about for coffee or on my lunch break from work.

It has been a busy but fulfilling week. The intro course to Swift has been so great but also quick-paced. It will take time to understand the never ending functions and commands but I know it will all become muscle memory in the future when I can use them. Although it is a lot to take in now, I have access to the resources and I know that a trusty search engine is always available whenever I need to know other important functions. This allows me some wriggle room from pressure of having to memorise everything.

It is now a Sunday evening and I should star to unwind now and perhaps take some me-time! Ready for another packed week of work, study, toddler and life in general!

Image description

Top comments (0)